FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | November 17, 2015

CONTACT: Ann D’Amato
Phone: 213.694.3062

LOS ANGELES, CA—The Los Angeles County Medical Association (LACMA) is hosting their 4th Annual Los Angeles Healthcare Awards on Thursday, November 19, 2015 at the California Club, to recognize individuals and institutions for their exemplary contributions to improving access to quality healthcare in Los Angeles.

“These awards are an opportunity to honor those leaders and organizations whose work, compassion and dedication are advancing patients’ rights to quality healthcare and paving the way for healthier lifestyles in all of Los Angeles County’s communities,” said Dr. Peter Richman, President of LACMA.

The Healthcare Awards is acknowledging honorees in seven prestigious categories:

Healthcare Champion of the Year

Hospital Physician Leadership Award

Independent Physician Leadership Award

Innovation Award—Community Service

Innovation Award—Public Education

Innovation Award—Facilities

Shine the Light Media Award

Mitchell H. Katz, MD, Director, LA County Dept. of Health Services

Alexandra Levine, MD, MACP, Chief Medical Officer, City of Hope National Medical Center

Vicken Sepilian, MD, Past President, Armenian American Medical Society

Anne L. Coleman, MD, PhD, Director, UCLA Mobile Eye Clinic – Jules Stein Eye Institute

John G. Raffoul, President and CEO, Tu Mundo Hoy, White Memorial Medical Center

William Shrank, MD, Senior VP, Chief Scientific Officer, Chief Medical Officer of Provider Innovation, CVS Health

Ryan McGarry, MD, Director and Writer, Code Black Documentary

Proceeds from the event support the Patient Care Foundation of Los Angeles County Medical Student Scholarship Program to help cultivate the next generation of physicians practicing in Los Angeles County.

“The event benefits the Patient Care Foundation of Los Angeles, which provides a connection between LACMA physicians and our communities by looking to improve patient access, care and treatment, to advance health education, and to encourage physician involvement and service in communities,” said Dr. Troy Elander, President of the Patient Care Foundation.

LACMA is a professional medical association representing over 6,500 dedicated physicians. For more than 140 years, LACMA has been at the forefront of current medicine providing leadership and innovation in healthcare fosters collaborations among physicians, patients and the community through the Patient Care Foundation of Los Angeles County.

The Patient Care Foundation is a charitable organization that serves as a link between physicians and the community. The Patient Care Foundation impacts the quality of life of all patients in Los Angeles County by expanding the pool of medical professionals who practice medicine in underserved communities.

This year the Foundation is awarding four scholarships to students from the Keck School of Medicine of USC and from the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA.

In addition, a new scholarship, the Marshall Morgan, MD Scholarship Fund, was announced for future recipients. Named in honor of LACMA leader and past‐president, the scholarship was introduced by Patient Care Foundation member, Howard Krauss and Dr. Morgan’s wife, Jean Campbell Morgan. Established to recognize an outstanding Emergency Medicine Resident in Los Angeles County, the scholarship aims to acknowledge a candidate who is highly engaged in community activism, a contributor in medical innovations, and an active participator in Operation Mend, UCLA’s partnership with the United States Military.